CORRUGATED CARDBOARD – Don’t throw it away! Transform this common toss-away into a beautiful, textured card.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Cardboard box dividers

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Dividers torn into pieces and top layer of paper stripped off.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Mix some acrylic paint into gesso.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Paint onto prepared cardboard pieces.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

When gesso is dry, swipe over with a variety of colored inks.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Assemble a selection of small images.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Stamp the edges of your blank cards with backgrounds

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Layer the cardboard pieces and a variety of embellishments until you are happy with the composition.

Finished card. Heart was die cut on my Big Shot with a Sizzix Embosslit.

Finished card. Heart was die cut on my Big Shot with a Sizzix Embosslit.

Finished card. Note that edges of card have additional inking. Burlap heart was cut on my Big Shot with a Spellbinders Scalloped Heart die.

Finished card. Note that edges of card have additional inking. Burlap heart was cut on my Big Shot with a Spellbinders Scalloped Heart die.

These embellishments are not yet glued down, but I wanted to show it here and was impatient!

These embellishments are not yet glued down, but I wanted to show it here and was impatient!

Larger heart was fussy cut from a homemade template and inked around the edge.

Larger heart was fussy cut from a homemade template and inked around the edge.

5 responses to “CORRUGATED CARDBOARD – Don’t throw it away! Transform this common toss-away into a beautiful, textured card.

  1. Loving these, they are just beautiful … Mixed Media always throws me, I’m still at the learning stage with this art, I feel this one I could achieve, thank you for sharing this. There gorgeous..

    Like

  2. Ms. A. Flowers–YOU are good! Very impressed with images and descriptions in tutorial. Thank you for making it easy to access, also. PS–I don’t read my Email as often as fb its a different search engine (or website?)–I pinned to Pinterest too–so I can follow easily either way. Keep making your art and continue to inspire!!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Hi Lunette! This is new territory for me! Documenting each step was so time-consuming, but worth it, I think. Also I’m still trying to figure out how to add more description to the text! I’ll prob add any blog posts to my FB timeline so that you will see them there. Thanks for following and pinning. I should do more pinning myself! ♥

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

